Archive for December 6th, 2014


RADA Committees

December 6, 2014

Having now democratically voted in a new president and parliament, and created a new majority coalition and subsequent Cabinet of Ministers within the space of 6 months, as well as a necessary and welcome National Anti-Corruption Bureau (under the likely leadership of Eka Zguladze) and an unnecessary and perceivably regressive Ministry of Information Policy, it now comes to the issue of the formation of RADA committees.

Looking at the formations of the committees there are some seemingly strong and reasonably clean, whilst others look decidedly weak and grubby by way of the individuals that comprise the whole.  Ce la vie.  The committees are formed to be inclusive of all groups that successfully arrived in parliament, to insure all sections of society – if you hold the belief that those on committees actually represent their constituents and not other vested interests.  Thus, some dubious characters naturally make their way into RADA committees on the basis of inclusiveness.

Naturally, one of the committees that is likely to get a lot of attention will be the Committee for Preventing and Combating Corruption – particularly as Ms Zguladze is hardly likely to cut them any slack by way of public comment from her independent Bureau – exactly as it should be.

Therefore it is perhaps worth naming names for this particular committee – for many such names may soon be banded around for reasons either good or ill.

The Committee Chairman – Yegor Sobolev (Samopomich Party).

First Deputy Chair – Yuri Savchuk (People’s Front).

Deputy Chairs – Boris Bereza (Independent), Yuri Garbyz (Poroshenko), Igor Popov (Radicals), Viktor Chumak (Poroshenko).

Committee Secretary – Dmitry Dobrodomov (Poroshenko)

Committee Members – Igor Artyushenko (Poroshenko), Oleg Barna (Poroshenko), Artem Ilyuk (Economic Development Party), Yuri Derevyanko (Independent), Sergey Dunayev (Opposition Block), Vadim Kryvohatko (Poroshenko), Mikhail Lano (Volya), Sergei Leshchenko (Poroshenko), Igor Lutsenko (Batkivshchyna), Konstantin Mateychenko (People’s Front), Ivan Melnychuk (Poroshenko), Ivan Mirniy (Opposition Block), Oleg Osuhovskyy (Independent (Svoboda)), Vladimir Parasiuk (Independent), and Yuri Tymoshenko (People’s Front).

All in all, there is certainly a number of genuine anti-corruption campaigners within the committee ranks, regardless of party affiliation.  As far as the new RADA committees go, the composition of this particularly (important) committee is noticeably more positive than others and contains several members who will not be silenced in the public realm over grubby little deals.

As for the RADA MPs from Odessa and the committees they found themselves upon?

The good news is that for the first time in 8 years, Sergei Kivalov no longer heads the Justice Committee.  It is now headed by Ruslan Knyazevich (Poroshenko).  Mr Kivalov does however remain a member of the Justice Committee and is joined by Dmitry Golubov (Poroshenk0).  Also from Odessa sitting on this committee as Deputy Chair is Anton Cisse (Economic Development Party).  Thus 4 MPs from Odessa sit on the Justice Committee.

Remaining on the Budget Committee is Alexander Presman (Economic Development Party), who is joined there by Nikolai Skorik (Opposition Block) and Pavel Unguryan (People’s Front).  So 3 MPs from Odessa on the Budget Committee.

Both Leonid Klimov (Economic Development Party) and Ivan Fursin (Volya) remain where they were pre-elections on the Committee on Finance and Banking.

Alexander Yrbanski (Poroshenko) now sits on the Transport Committee.

To the Committee for Legislative Support for Law Enforcement go Vitaly Barvinenko (Economic Development Party) and Evgene Deidei (People’s Front).

Now sitting as Committee Secretary for the Committee for State Construction, Regional Policy and Local Self-Government is Alexie Goncharenko (Poroshenko).  Committee members also include Eduard Matviychuk and Vasily Gulyeav from Odessa.

Finally, sitting within the Economics Committee are Gennady Chekita (Poroshenko) and Sergey Faermark.

Of the 27 committees formed, all returned MPs from Odessa sit within 7 of them.

The time for using formulative bureaucracy as a reason/excuse for reform inaction has now run short, yet just how much can be accomplished the 3 weeks prior to New Year and the Orthodox Christmas remains to be seen.  What is beyond doubt, is that come the New Year, the entire political class will need to come out of the starting blocks full of energy, political will to deliver and an unambiguous desire to change how the country is currently run.  If not, and no tangible results are forthcoming due to in-fighting or bureaucratic excuses, they probably have until Easter before societal discontent manifestly rears its head once more.

%d bloggers like this: